Novel Writing Plan

by Mushra

452be3d1998d34151568103594c669f4

So I’ve been working on this novel for the last six years. For the most part, it’s been a lot of planning and a lot of thinking. I’m not going to reveal any of the plot on here, though I have thought about releasing it serially like they did in the good ol’ days, but unless I have the right kind of publishing, I’m afraid my story might be stolen.

However, while this story has been thoroughly thought through, there is, indeed, much more research that needs to be done in order for me to complete my novel in accordance to my desires. There are many details I wish to get right and I’ve collected numerous photos as well as written numerous scenes that have no specifically set place in the novel’s timeline just yet. However, I have two notebooks full of notes, all these photos, and all these half-written scenes and I have been wanting to organize them for quite some time.

My plan–and I’m writing it down here so that I don’t forget and so that I can keep a record of this–is to organize everything this winter, starting with buying a nice binder with some of those clear folders that go inside and insert my notebooks, pictures, and segments, as well as the chapters that are already written inside with tabs for more organization. My table of contents will look something like this:

  • A summary of “Story”
  • Character Profiles
  • Fashion of “Story”
  • Notes
  • “Story”: Part 1
  • Chapter 1: “Title”
  • Chapter 2: “Title”
  • etc. until
  • Revision and additional Notes
  • Possible cover art
  • Information on publishing

And thus concludes what I suspect this binder will look very much like on the inside. I am hoping it will be something of a scrapbook format with the pictures though very organized and easy to sort through. I believe in having two Notes sections because there should be one that was written before the novel is completed and one that is written during the editing process so that there will be no mistakes made and so that I can match or cancel out any excess notes that were written throughout the novel.

In addition to this organizational phase, I recently bought myself a nice four door filing cabinet that needs a bit of fixing up, but other wise works very nicely and is something sturdy that I can use for all of my other writing. However, while I am writing this first novel, I have actually been thinking of my second and third novels as well. Perhaps I will also buy two binders for those and organize them similarly, but with my focus on the first, of course. I also have a number of poems that I would someday like to publish and maybe I will also make a smaller binder for those and get them published soon.

Once I obtain enough money, I also plan on retrieving the second novel I’ve ever written from my Mac since it’s been sadly trapped on its hard drive for a good eight years. And with my very first novel–written in pen in a little notebook before I ever had a laptop–I would like to someday rewrite that since I began that novel when I was 13. Each of these novels, with the very second one excluded and perhaps the very last one that I have in mind, are relatively long in length–or at least that’s the way that I’m imagining them–and so I don’t know how long each of these will take. However, I am very happy to say that I have already five novels either dreamed up, planned out, or written down and ready to be edited before being published.

Now I just need to retrieve the information, organize it, and finalize everything. I hope you all will wish me luck on my endeavor as a writer. It is terribly difficult to write while going to school full time and having a full time job. I’m hoping to accomplish more things this winter than I ever have before.

